Gluten-free foods: list, consumption and diet care

Some time ago, gluten became a popular term in the world of diets. To lose weight, to detox, to have more disposition, to deflate the organism: the tip is to cut or reduce the gluten.

There are those who are advocates of diets, pointing out that there are benefits in restricting protein even when there is no allergy or intolerance. Others argue that deprivation should only be followed when there is some sensitivity.

Regardless of the positioning adopted, there is a group that should definitely stay away from foods with gluten: celiac, allergic and people with sensitivity to protein.

Therefore, both those who cannot consume the protein and those who prefer to eliminate it from food need to keep an eye on the labels and origin of the food.

The protein, which was unknown to many people, is present – and sometimes almost hidden – in many foods and products.

What is gluten?

Knowing what gluten is is a good start to know what foods contain it.

It is a protein naturally present in wheat, rye and barley. So, you can already know that French bread or bread is forbidden in the gluten-free diet .

This protein gives the masses elasticity, allowing them to be worked, stretched and shaped more easily. Therefore, it is used in many foods.

The gluten-free diet does not always mean caloric reduction, since the most usual substitution of gluten-free foods is with other starches and flours from other cereals.

Which can mean the same caloric intake and, sometimes, even greater.

Therefore, it is not enough to remove wheat flour and cereals such as rye and barley from the diet to follow the gluten-free diet.

Anyone who is attentive to the labels on the packaging must have noticed that many foods that do not contain flour still contain gluten.

Juices, candies, chocolates, corn starch, yoghurts may contain protein due to cross contamination. Therefore, the list of really gluten-free foods is even more restricted.

This is because, unlike some other allergens, the protein particles adhere to industrial machines, to the utensils used in production, to ovens and even dissipate in the air.

For this reason, those who need to eat a gluten-free diet due to sensitivity or celiac disease have to redouble their attention even in home-grown products so as not to become contaminated.

What are gluten-free and lactose-free foods?

Some products, such as cereals, grains and seeds, are naturally gluten free. Many can be used in place of wheat, rye or barley, being a good option for adapting recipes.

In addition to gluten, there are those who want or need to remove lactose from food as well.

It, unlike gluten, is a sugar present in milk and dairy products. And it is strongly associated with intestinal dysfunctions and intolerances, when there is insufficient, little or no production of the enzyme lactase , responsible for the digestion of lactose.

The best tip, for cases of severe lactose intolerance, is to invest in milks and vegetable derivatives such as soy, almonds, chestnuts, coconut and many others, thus avoiding the consumption of the animal product.

For those who have some enzyme production, products without or zero lactose or the use of the enzyme lactase can be great alternatives.

Although there are no gluten in various products, their processing can take place in places that also work with wheat, rye or barley, for example.

Thus, if a company processes gluten-free chocolate and gluten-free chocolate in the same machine, both will be contaminated.

So, looking at the label is always important!

But some products that, at first, do not contain gluten and lactose and are wild cards to use in recipes are:

Fruits and vegetables in general

In addition to being naturally free of gluten and lactose, fruits and vegetables are rich in nutrients and are very good for health. Between them:

  • Apple, banana, papaya, watermelon, melon and all other fruits;
  • Lettuce, watercress, cabbage, cabbage and all other vegetables and vegetables;
  • Zucchini, spinach, pumpkin, eggplant and all other vegetables.

Bases of a balanced diet, these products help in the proper functioning of the organism and, in general, do not need much care in relation to contamination, except for pesticides and pesticides .

The main attention is on storage and cleaning, remembering that they should not be in contact with other products with gluten.

Rice, potatoes and other carbohydrates

Cereals are very important in the diet and some are naturally gluten-free – and also lactose-free, which is present only in milk and dairy products.

Rice has some variations, such as white, parboiled, brown, wild and black. In addition to it, there are other carbohydrates such as:

  • Arborio rice (for risotto);
  • Gluten-free rice noodles;
  • Sweet potatoes, English potatoes and other variations;
  • Cheese bread;
  • Tapioca.

In addition to it, potatoes , pumpkins and sweet potatoes are also part of a group of good carbohydrates, as they are a source of nutrients.

Cornmeal, corn starch, flour and flour

There are several flours naturally gluten free. The corn ones are well known and are part of several traditional recipes, such as couscous and polenta.

Some suggestions to include in the diet are:

  • Fool;
  • Corn or cornmeal cake;
  • Cornstarch porridge.

There is corn starch, rice flour, potato starch and starch that are part of several gluten-free bread and cake recipes.

In fact, for those who like to venture into gluten-free recipes , combining these flours results in a mixture capable of giving a more malleable and elastic consistency to the recipes.

Quinoa, amaranth and vegetable proteins

The quinoa is a food that has become popular recently.

Considered a superfood, it is rich in nutrients and, in addition to being gluten free, it is ideal for reinforcing protein intake . Thus, it can be consumed by vegetarians and vegans.

Likewise, amaranth is a protein-rich grain that can enhance nutrition.

Among other suggestions there are:

  • Soy;
  • Lentil;
  • Beans;
  • Peas;
  • Chickpea.

These products can integrate recipes and replace ingredients with gluten.

Animal meat, egg and protein

For people with lactose intolerance, on the market, there are milks and derivatives enriched with the enzyme lactase, enabling ingestion.

But if the case is of allergy to milk protein – casein – it is necessary to exclude all foods derived from animal milk to avoid any type of contamination.

In this case, proteins need to be well balanced in other sources, such as eggs and meat (fish, beef, chicken and pork).

Juices, soft drinks, tea and other drinks

In general, sodas and teas are gluten-free. Packet juices, chocolate, vitamins or other industrialized drinks, on the other hand, can often contain gluten and lactose.

The rule that remains, for all drinks, is always to look at the label .

Does oats contain gluten?

Of course, oats are gluten-free . Despite this, many people think that food has this protein. This is because, in general – especially in Brazil -, the cereal is grown, harvested, stored and processed in soils, machines and factories that process products with gluten.

Thus, it becomes contaminated as well.

Currently, some companies already offer the gluten-free cereal, taking great care in cultivation , processing and packaging.

Which breads do not have gluten?

 

When someone discovers celiac disease, allergy, sensitivity or intolerance to gluten, one of the first foods that are cut is bread.

And it doesn’t matter which one: French, of form, of milk, of water, homemade or of hot dog. If you have wheat, rye or barley flour, you have gluten.

But that does not mean that all breads have gluten, as several products specially produced for those who do not consume the protein are available on the market.

And the variety is increasing, among them:

  • Potato bread;
  • Aipim Bread;
  • Carrot bread;
  • Multigrain bread;
  • Psilium bread.

It is also possible to find breads with the label of whole product, which are made with brown rice flour. In addition to hot dog buns and hamburgers, with specific formats for these snacks.

List: what foods have or may have gluten?

When shopping, it is important to pay attention to the labels and list of ingredients. Sometimes, gluten is in products that do not arouse suspicion, among them:

  • Cakes, breads, cookies and snacks;
  • Cereal, fruit or dehydrated fruit bars (in the case of dehydrated fruits, the presence of gluten can happen due to cross contamination);
  • Dairy products and milk drinks;
  • Condiments, spices and broths ready;
  • Dehydrated soups;
  • Pasta in general;
  • Breakfast cereals and granola;
  • Ready drinks;
  • Spiced raw meats;
  • Cheeses;
  • Industrialized sweets;
  • Gelatins;
  • Beers;
  • Food supplements and shakes;
  • Canned and processed meats;
  • Kani;
  • Coffee and powdered chocolate;
  • Gum, candy and chocolate.

This does not mean that all gelatine or chocolate will have gluten, but that they may have due to cross contamination or insertion of products with gluten in production.

In addition, it is worth remembering that there are companies that produce these same foods especially for people with gluten restriction. So even pizzas, breads and beers can be found in gluten-free versions.

Gluten-free food: care beyond food

A healthy and gluten-free diet should prioritize foods rich in vitamins, minerals, low in sugars, fat and, preferably, with less industrialized ones.

As previously mentioned, a diet with restriction or exclusion of gluten is not always less caloric and / or lighter.

That is, basically what any balanced diet needs.

The difference is that, when there is a restriction on gluten, attention should be on the nutritional tables, the way of preparing and preparing the food.

So, a good gluten-free diet should involve:

Attention to labels

It is law: all packaging must indicate whether or not the product contains allergens such as gluten and lactose. Therefore, reading the packaging and paying attention to the list of ingredients is the best way to eat safely.

Separate kitchen

Preparing food at home using gluten-free ingredients does not mean being risk-free if other residents consume gluten.

Ovens, sandwich makers, grill, utensils and other appliances must be separated, preferably with no preparation of gluten-free foods in the same environment as gluten-free ones.

Adequate storage

After preparing food or when buying, it is important to check that the storage is correct. Mixing the products, putting them in the same packaging or dropping sharps of products with gluten contaminates the food.

Own utensils

In the same way that handling needs to be separated, it is important to use your own utensils.

Many patients have a low or moderate sensitivity, showing no symptoms after using contaminated dishes, but that does not mean that the gluten present in it does not affect the body.

The ideal is to keep everything separate: pots, glasses, cutlery, etc.

Knowledge of the origin

Some foods do not have labels, so it is always important to know how they were made, stored and with what ingredients. Knowing the source is fundamental.


Gluten-free diets are part of the routine of many people, either for well-being or for health reasons, such as intolerance or allergy.

Therefore, knowing which foods contain gluten, what precautions to take and what can be substituted for is important to be able to follow a healthy diet.

Loading...